10 Years later

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On May 27th, 2004 I finished high school. It is hard to believe that was 10 years ago today. I remember the excitement of finally being done with public education and looking forward to finally being an adult. I kept imagining to myself where will I be 10 years from now. Its funny to look back and see that what I imagined and what happened aren’t exactly the same.

In high school I played basketball during my freshman year and part of my sophomore year. I joined band during the second semester of my sophomore year and finished high school in band. Band was such a big part of my life then and during the time I thought music would always be with me. Funny how life changes. I barely touch my saxophone today (mostly because I live in an apartment and I don’t want to annoy my neighbor, lol!) However, I also don’t play it since life seems to keep me busy and music isn’t a passion like it was for me 10 years ago.

When I was graduating I imagined that in 10 years I would be done with college, married, have children, and be an accountant. I also imagined that I would live in Louisiana too. Flash forward to 10 years later and I have finished college, got married, hope to have a baby in the next year, and I’m an Accounting Associate. I’ve moved to Indiana too. So far I’m on track with almost everything I thought would happen.

I've also put on weight since high school. Lol!

I’ve also put on weight since high school. Lol!

But there were many things that happened along the way that I never could have predicted. It took me about 9 years to finish college! I changed colleges and my majors many times. I married in my mid-twenties instead of my early twenties like I thought I would when I was 18. I’m not really an accountant but I do some light accounting work. I’ve also lost the passion for music and instead I have a passion for tabletop games. The last 10 years have been an amazing adventure and I don’t regret anything! I am happy and so very blessed. What will the next 10 years bring I don’t know. I can only guess but I’d prefer to watch it unfold.

http://www.houmatoday.com/article/20040528/NEWS/405280336

 

Leave a Reply

