My dying love

PeytonManning15

Growing up I loved to watch Major League Baseball. I remember cheering for the White Sox. I had baseball cards and enjoyed watching the games. I also watched the Chicago Bulls when Michael Jordan was on the team. Eventually my favorite players left their teams and I found the teams lacking. When I was in high school I was introduced to the rules of football. I cheered for the Tennessee Titans but after my favorite player left the team my fandom ended. I switch to cheering for the Indianapolis Colts for years. If anyone watches sports they know what happened…Peyton Manning went to the Denver Broncos. Last year I cheered for the Broncos and the Colts but not as loud as I used to. I cheer for our local college Indiana University in football and basketball too. Last year’s basketball season was great until it ended unexpectedly. I’ve come to a realization that with every team losing players I liked and the majority of my favorite teams’ seasons coming to an unexpected end have left me feeling apathy towards watching sports. I like to play sports (even though I don’t get the chance often) but I find myself no longer carrying who wins and who loses. I think I’m done with being a sports fan. In a lot of ways it is liberating since I don’t have to always keep up with it. A guy that drops off supplies to my work once said “I’ve learned years ago that teams win or lose regardless if I’m watching or not.”

Leave a Reply

